Arctic Monkeys – Humbug


Arctic Monkeys are an English rock band formed in Sheffield in 2002. The band have usually been categorised under the indie rock, garage rock, psychedelic rock, and post-punk revival genres. A key part of their sound, and one that translates across their whole discography, is lead singer and frontman Alex Turner’s intricate and often rapidly delivered lyrics, sung in a distinctive strong Sheffield accent that their music became famed for in their early years. A large part of their iconic British sound is credited to the punk poet John Cooper Clarke. Humbug is their third studio album, first released on 19 August 2009. Wholly recorded in the United States, Arctic Monkeys’ worked with American musician Josh Homme, who produced tracks recorded in Los Angeles and the Mojave Desert alongside New York City recordings produced by James Ford. Musically, the album is a departure from the punk-influenced sound of the band with it having a desert/surf and ambient tone. Homme has been credited by writers for introducing the album’s darker sound.

Label: Domino
Cat. # WIGLP220

Out of stock

Categories: , Tag: