Radiohead – OK Computer


Radiohead are an English rock band formed in Abingdon, Oxfordshire, in 1985. The band consists of Thom Yorke (vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards), brothers Jonny Greenwood (lead guitar, keyboards, other instruments) and Colin Greenwood (bass), Ed O’Brien (guitar, backing vocals) and Philip Selway (drums, percussion). They have worked with producer Nigel Godrich and cover artist Stanley Donwood since 1994. Radiohead’s experimental approach is credited with advancing the sound of alternative rock. They have sold more than 30 million albums and are sometimes cited as one of the foremost rock bands of the 21st century. OK Computer is their third album, released on May 1997. Noted for its complex production and themes of modern alienation, it is acclaimed as a landmark record of the Generation X era. Upon release it received critical acclaim and has been cited by listeners, critics and musicians as one of the greatest albums of all time. The album initiated a stylistic shift in British rock away from Britpop toward melancholic, atmospheric alternative rock that became more prevalent in the next decade. In 2014, it was included by the Library of Congress in the National Recording Registry as “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant”.

2  x LP
Label: XL Recordings
Cat. # XLLP781

Out of stock

Categories: , Tag: