Pink Floyd – The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn


Pink Floyd were an English rock band formed in London in 1965. Gaining an early following as one of the first British psychedelic groups, they were distinguished for their extended compositions, sonic experimentation, philosophical lyrics and elaborate live shows, and became a leading band of the progressive rock genre. Pink Floyd were founded by Syd Barrett (guitar, lead vocals), Nick Mason (drums), Roger Waters (bass guitar, vocals), and Richard Wright (keyboards, vocals). Under Barrett’s leadership, they released two charting singles and a successful debut album, The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (1967). Guitarist and vocalist David Gilmour joined in December 1967; Barrett left in April 1968 due to deteriorating mental health. Pink Floyd are one of the most influential rock bands of all time, and they have sold more than 255 million records worldwide, making them one of the best-selling music artists of all time. The Piper at the Gates of Dawn is their debut album, released 5 August 1967. The only album made under founding member Syd Barrett’s leadership, it takes its title from chapter seven of Kenneth Grahame’s 1908 novel The Wind in the Willows, which refers to the nature God Pan, and was recorded at EMI Studios in London from February to May 1967 with producer Norman Smith. Two of its songs, “Astronomy Domine” and “Interstellar Overdrive”, became long-term mainstays of the band’s live setlist, and the album itself has been hailed as a pivotal psychedelic rock album.

Remastered from the original tapes on 180 gram Heavyweight Vinyl
Label: Pink Floyd Records
Cat. # PFRLP1

Out of stock

Categories: , , Tag:

You may also like…