Nina Simone – Forbidden Fruit


Nina Simone was an American singer, songwriter, musician, and civil rights activist, also regarded as one of the most influential recording artists of the 20th century. Her music spanned a broad range of musical styles including classical, jazz, blues, folk, R&B, gospel, and pop. Musicians who have cited Simone as important for their own musical upbringing include Elton John, Madonna, Aretha Franklin, Beyoncé, Adele, David Bowie and many many more. Forbidden Fruit is her fourth studio album released in 1961. The rhythm section accompanying her is the same trio as on both live albums before and after this release and include Al Schackman on guitar, Chris White on bass and Bobby Hamilton on drums. In this album Nina Simone sings of people in love, and of the circumstances that sometimes keep them from it.

Track List
A1 “Rags and Old Iron”
A2 “No Good Man”
A3 “Gin House Blues”
A4 “I’ll Look Around”
A5 “I Love to Love”
B1 “Work Song”
B2 “Where Can I Go Without You?”
B3 “Just Say I Love Him”
B4 “Memphis in June”
B5 “Forbidden Fruit”

Label: DOL
Cat. # DOL832HG

Out of stock

Categories: , Tag: