Idles – Brutalism


IDLES are a British rock band formed in Bristol in 2009. The band consists of Joe Talbot (vocals), Mark Bowen (guitar), Lee Kiernan (guitar), Adam Devonshire (bass) and Jon Beavis (drums) and their music has been associated with punk rock and related genres including post-punk, hardcore punk, and post-hardcore. Singer Joe Talbot, however, rejects all of these labels. In 2017, he was quoted as saying: “We’re not a post punk band. I guess we have that motorik, engine-like drive in the rhythm section that some post punk bands have but we have plenty of songs that aren’t like that at all.” Their debut album, Brutalism, was released in 2017 to critical acclaim. The band recorded the album largely live in the studio, with each song recorded three times at most in order to keep a raw and urgent feel to them. Brutalism was selected at number 5 in BBC 6 Music’s list ‘6 Music Recommends Albums Of The Year 2017’, where it was described as “Caustic, volatile, take-no-prisoners indie [that delivers] a truly vital, adrenalin shot to the heart and mind.” It was described by Michael Hann in The Guardian as “the most honest album of 2017”.

Remasted Audio
Includes Download Code
Label: Partisan Records
Cat. # PTKF2155-1

Out of stock

Categories: , , , Tag: