Swans – Love Of Life


Swans are an American experimental rock band formed in 1982 by singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Michael Gira. One of few acts to emerge from the New York City-based no wave scene and stay intact into the next decade, Swans have become recognized for an ever-changing sound, exploring genres such as noise rock, post-punk, industrial and post-rock. Initially, their music was known for its sonic brutality and misanthropic lyrics. Following the addition of singer, songwriter and keyboardist Jarboe in 1986, Swans began to incorporate melody and intricacy into their music. Jarboe remained the band’s only constant member except Gira and semi-constant guitarist Norman Westberg until their dissolution in 1997. In 2010, Gira re-formed the band without Jarboe, establishing a stable lineup of musicians which has toured worldwide and released more albums to critical acclaim. Love of Life is their eighth studio album, released in February 1992. The album was out of print for a long time and had not been reissued until December 2015. The cover art is a painting by Deryk Thomas. All of the untitled segues, listed as both “(—)” and “(—)”, are credited to the band Beautiful People LTD, which is a one-off collaboration between Jarboe and then-Swans bass player Lary 7.

Includes Poster & Digital Copy
Label: Mute

Cat. # STUMM384

Out of stock

Categories: , , Tag: