Swans – Leaving Meaning


Swans are an American experimental rock band formed in 1982 by singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Michael Gira. One of few acts to emerge from the New York City-based no wave scene and stay intact into the next decade, Swans have become recognized for an ever-changing sound, exploring genres such as noise rock, post-punk, industrial and post-rock. Initially, their music was known for its sonic brutality and misanthropic lyrics. Following the addition of singer, songwriter and keyboardist Jarboe in 1986, Swans began to incorporate melody and intricacy into their music. Jarboe remained the band’s only constant member except Gira and semi-constant guitarist Norman Westberg until their dissolution in 1997. In 2010, Gira re-formed the band without Jarboe, establishing a stable lineup of musicians which has toured worldwide and released more albums to critical acclaim. Leaving Meaning is their fifteenth studio album, released in October 2019. The album features recent and former Swans / Angels Of Light members, and special guests such as The Necks, Anna and Maria von Hausswolff, Baby Dee, Ben Frost and more.

2 x LP, Includes Poster and Download
Label: Young God Records
Cat. # STUM446

Out of stock

Categories: , , , Tag: