Robert Johnson – Best Of: King Of The Delta Blues


Robert Johnson was an American blues singer, songwriter and musician. His landmark recordings in 1936 and 1937 display a combination of singing, guitar skills, and songwriting talent that has influenced later generations of musicians. Johnson’s poorly documented life and death have given rise to much legend. The one most closely associated with his life is that he sold his soul to the devil at a local crossroads to achieve musical success. He is now recognized as a master of the blues, particularly the Delta blues style. King of the Delta Blues is a compilation album released in 1961 on Columbia Records. It is considered one of the greatest and most influential blues releases. This is a 2014 re-issue from Not Now Music with the following track listing:

A1 Cross Road Blues
A2 Ramblin’ On My Mind
A3 Terraplane Blues
A4 32-20 Blues
A5 Walking Blues
A6 When You Got A Good Friend
A7 If I Had Possession Over Judgement Day
A8 Travelling Riverside Blues

B1 Hellhound On y Trail
B2 Come On In My Kitchen
B3 Me And The Devil Blues
B4 Last Fair Deal Gone Down
B5 Kindhearted Woman Blues
B6 Preaching Blues
B7 Milkcow’s Calf Blues
B8 Stones In My Passageway

Label: Not Now Music
Cat. # CATLP109

Out of stock