Preoccupations – New Material


Preoccupations is a Canadian post-punk band from Calgary, Alberta, formed in 2012 under the name Viet Cong. The band consists of Matt Flegel (vocals, bass), Scott Munro (guitar, synth), Daniel Christiansen (guitar) and Mike Wallace (drums). They changed their name in 2015 because they frequently faced controversy over their original name, involving accusations of both racism and cultural appropriation. The group’s musical style has mainly been described as “post-punk”. The band’s debut cassette was described as a combination of “crooning post-punk vocals, distant-sounding harmonies à la Nuggets-era psychedelia, noise-addled punk, and Blade Runner-style instrumentals”. New Material is their third studio album, released on March 2018.

Includes Download Code
Label: Jagjaguwar
Cat. # JAG320

Out of stock

Categories: , , Tag: