Mayhem – Deathcrush


Deathcrush is an EP by the Norwegian black metal band Mayhem. It was released on 16 August 1987 by the Posercorpse record label.

Though influential to black metal, its lyrics and sound were largely influenced by thrash metal bands. After vocalist Dead joined the group, the band adopted darker lyrical topics and guitarist Euronymous (Øystein Aarseth) started rejecting most other metal bands as their lyrics turned towards “social awareness” and “normal” topics instead of death worship; he “wanted things to be more serious and extreme”. Dead stated that the lyrics “aren’t bad at all, but they are later what would become gore and trendy”.


Out of stock

Categories: , Tags: ,