Louis Armstrong – Fireworks


Louis Armstrong was an American trumpeter, composer, vocalist, and actor who was among the most influential figures in jazz. His career spanned five decades, from the 1920s to the 1960s, and different eras in the history of jazz. The influence of Armstrong on the development of jazz is virtually immeasurable. His irrepressible personality both as a performer and as a public figure was so strong that to some it sometimes overshadowed his contributions as a musician and singer. As a virtuoso trumpet player, Armstrong had a unique tone and an extraordinary talent for melodic improvisation. Through his playing, the trumpet emerged as a solo instrument in jazz and is used widely today. Additionally, jazz itself was transformed from a collectively improvised folk music to a soloist’s serious art form largely through his influence. He was a masterful accompanist and ensemble player in addition to his extraordinary skills as a soloist. With his innovations, he raised the bar musically for all who came after him. Fireworks is a collection of tracks released before 1960, curated by Frances Dreyfus.

Track List

A1 West End Blues
A2 My Monday Date
A3 Basin Street Blues
A4 Weather Bird (Rag)
A5 St. James Infirmary
A6 Sugar Foot Strut
A7 Heah Me Talkin’ To Ya?

B1 Fireworks
B2 Skip The Gutter
B3 Two Deuces
B4 Squeeze Me
B5 No One Else But You
B6 Save It, Pretty Mama
B7 Tight Like This

Label: Dreyfus Jazz
Cat. # 538483889

Out of stock

Category: Tag: