Boards Of Canada – Hi Scores (EP)


Boards of Canada are a Scottish electronic music duo consisting of brothers Michael Sandison and Marcus Eoin. The duo’s music incorporates elements such as vintage synthesisers, analogue production methods, hip hop-inspired breakbeats, and samples from 1970s public broadcasting programmes and other outdated media; it has been described as exploring themes of nostalgia, childhood memory, and nature. Boards of Canada’s first commercial release occurred after attracting the attention of Autechre’s Sean Booth, of the English label Skam Records, one of many people who were sent a demo EP. Skam issued what was considered Boards of Canada’s first “findable” work, Hi Scores, in 1996. The second song, “Turquoise Hexagon Sun”, would later appear on the duo’s 1998 debut studio album.

Track List
1. “Hi Scores” – 4:57
2. “Turquoise Hexagon Sun” – 5:09
3. “Nlogax” – 6:54
4. “June 9th” – 5:18
5. “Seeya Later” – 4:12
6. “Everything You Do Is a Balloon” – 7:03

Out of stock